Colm Wilkinson singing Gethsemane from Jesus Christ Superstar

At James Gandolfini’s funeral today “Bring Him Home” from Les Misérables was performed. The song was originally performed by Colm Wilkinson as Jean Valjean. SB & I listened to one of Wilkinson’s performances, then watched him perform “Music of the Night” from The Phantom of the Opera.

While we were watching “Music of the Night” I became so breathless & moved by Wilkinson’s performance that it overwhelmed me. I also thought to myself, “Wouldn’t it be beautiful to hear this gorgeous tenor perform Ted Neeley’s song “Gethsemane” from Jesus Christ Superstar?” After we finished listening, SB said, “Oh hey, here’s a video of Wilkinson performing Gethsemane from Jesus Christ Superstar.” WHAT? I make magic dreams come true with my musical theatre wishes!

The performance is mesmerizing. Wilkinson speaks about always wanting to sing the song, it’s clear while he performs that he loves it. He captures the same frantic, muddled, cluttered confusion of a haunted man that Ted so beautifully understands and holds the most dramatic notes so long, and they sound so clear, that my chest tightens from the beauty of it all.

After we finished listening, SB noted that she thinks I have a thing for tenors, so she listed off a few popular tenors & so many are some of my favourite vocalists: Freddie Mercury, Peter Cetera, Don Henley, Justin Timberlake, Thom Yorke, Roy Orbison.

My absolute favourite voice is Ted Neeley’s; hearing this heartbreaking cover moved me, and, as JCS always does, soothed me on a day when I especially need soothing.

Find me now on my new site Les Beehive!

One thought on “Colm Wilkinson singing Gethsemane from Jesus Christ Superstar

Leave a comment